Update: Eastern European Urbex Trip

Apologies for the lack of updates and replies on this site over the last month or two, in case anyone was wondering, I’ve had a bit of a plan in progress…

After 8 years of exploring solely on Irish soil I thought it was time to expand my horizons. For years I’ve been seeing photos and reading reports of incredible abandoned structures in various corners of the world. Famous places that unfortunately I have not had the chance to visit, places that I could only admire from afar.

But photos from one country in particular had always been plaguing me, almost inviting me to come see the wonders themselves. Photos of nuclear bunkers hidden deep beneath the ground, vast decaying factories, skyscrapers stretching high into the sky and complex mines running below the city streets. This country is home to the radioactive ghost town of Pripyat near Chernobyl and the famous Odessa Catacombs, the longest manmade tunnel system in the world with 2,500km of passages. The country I’m talking about is of course, Ukraine.

This year, finally after far too long waiting to see these places I finally got my arse in gear and put a plan in motion. The result of which was a 2,000km long solo journey on buses and trains through 4 countries (and 1 unrecognised breakaway state!) in Eastern Europe meeting up with some really awesome explorers along the way.

I am still going through the photos as we speak so over the next few weeks I will upload reports of 11 different locations which I visited in these countries. These include underground rivers, nuclear bunkers, abandoned factories, city rooftops and even an abandoned prison. In some of the locations I only took a handful of photos but hopefully they will still be of interest.

This trip was a proper challenge at times which made it all the more interesting. Overall, the people I met, the experiences I had and the places I visited were absolutely incredible. I think I’ll be doing more of this from now on!

Leave a Reply

